Why I decided to make my story public

For a few months, friends have suggested I start a blog.  Now that I have had time to think about my platform and stance, I am now taking the first step in writing my first blog post.  So without further ado, here I go…

——–

For years I have grappled with the idea of getting bariatric surgery also known as “weight loss” surgery (WLS). I always decided against it because I did not want people to think that I was “taking the easy way out” or that I did not find myself beautiful.

After much thought, time, research and consultation, I decided to go through with bariatric surgery on July 17, 2015.  I went in with the premise that the surgery would support me in my efforts to live a healthier lifestyle….a lifestyle that focuses on health, not on size.

There are a few common misconceptions surrounding WLS, including:

  1.  The idea that you can eat whatever you want and lose weight
  2. Only people who are insecure about their body get WLS

Both of these perceptions are far from the truth. Weight loss surgery is a lifetime commitment and requires that you eat right and exercise regularly.  It is not the answer to weight loss but instead, it is a tool to guide you in your efforts to live a healthier lifestyle.

So why did I decide to make my story public, you ask? I realized my fears were holding me back and were just reinforcing the stigma already surrounding the surgery.  I refuse to be a part of the problem but instead, I want to be a part of the solution. I want to educate people around the realities of getting the surgery and I want to serve as a resource to those who might be considering it. In addition to this, I want my focus to be on health and not size because I find beauty beyond size.

So, a week before my surgery, after much hesitation I posted this on Facebook:

FB Announcement  July 13

It has been almost five months since my surgery and making my story public through social media and now through this blog has been a big step for me. Not only has going public sparked much conversation but going public has also provided me with something completely unexpected.  I now have a community that provides me ideas, helps hold me accountable to my actions and supports me in my efforts to be healthier.

With that said, I hope you enjoy reading about my journey.  Feel free to ask questions or spark a dialogue. And remember, it’s about being healthy not skinny.

 

One thought on “Why I decided to make my story public

Leave a Reply

