8 ways to trick your body into eating less

I get a lot of questions about what my portion sizes look like right now and how do I stay so dedicated. To be honest, while my stomach only allows me to eat so much per meal/snack, my mind still craves certain things like pop and mom’s Puerto Rican rice. #yum! My cravings are soooo bad that I actually sniff my mother’s cup sometimes as she pours pop into it. Sad I know but I would not trade it for anything.  I am healthier.

With that said, I have learned a few tricks along the way that actually help keep me on track and trick my mind into eating less/wanting less food. Here are a few of my tips:

  1. Eat with smaller dishes and utensils: As you can see from the picture displayed, I do not use the average plate size anymore. My eyes tend to be bigger than my stomach so a smaller plate helps me take less food. In addition to this, I love using baby spoons or teaspoons to eat as I consume less right away.
  2. Chew slowly and often: While this is sometimes difficult and I forget, I need to make a conscious effort to chew slowly.  On average, we are technically supposed to chew 28 times per bite. By chewing slower and more often, you allow your body to catch up with you and actually get fuller quicker versus overeating.
  3. Put your utensil down in-between bites: I find that putting my utensil down in-between bites allows my stomach to catch up to my eating. Also, with this method I am not overeating and can actually take the time to chew slowly.
  4. Eat breakfast high in protein: Breakfasts high in protein have been proven to suppress cravings. High protein breakfasts are also known to reduce eating throughout the day.
  5. Out of sight, out of mind: My new found obsession is Doritos. When I eat them, I indulge like a mad woman. However, as long as it is not in front of me, I am good to go. I control my cravings by not tempting myself with them to begin with.
  6. Keep food out of reach: While I can control what food is in my apartment, I cannot always control the food options in different surroundings. For example, at work we always have pretzels around. If the entire bag is in front of me, I snack on the pretzels without control. For snacks like this, do not place them in front of you so don’t unconsciously eat too much.
  7. Remove distractions: I am really striving to be a conscious eater always aware of what and how much I am putting in my body. When I eat, I try to solely focus on eating versus eating while I am doing something else. With that said, I try not to eat while watching television or working because I easily get distracted. This can be difficult at time due to my busy schedule but I have to constantly remind myself that this a lifestyle change.  So, I make time for lunch and for dinner. I have come to find that making this time each day has actually been a relaxer; a timeout from my day.
  8. Drink water before you eat: While I usually do not drink until after I am done eating, due to my inability to eat a lot to begin with, many people have told me that they feel fuller when they drink a glass of water before dinner.

These are just a few of my tricks? Do you have anything else that I should consider trying?

2 thoughts on “8 ways to trick your body into eating less

    • I am more than two years out. Now I feel like I can eat more than before (not a huge difference though). Mentally, I still want to eat more sometimes but my body is now used to eating less.

      Like

Leave a Reply

