My struggle with giving up Coke

Weight loss surgery requires that you make a lifelong commitment to making healthier eating habits. With that comes a “no carbonated beverages” rule.

We have all had them: pop, hard cider, champagne or beer.  All of these drinks are carbonated. Before the surgery, I was a huge pop drinker, with Coke Cola being my main drink of choice. I do not drink coffee so pop was my morning go-to and afternoon pick-me-up. When I decided I was getting surgery, I was told that I would have to avoid carbonated drinks for a few reasons:

  1. Carbonated beverages pull excess air into the stomach pouch.  This can cause excess gas, nausea and a very upset stomach. It does not sound too bad but it actually is. The stomach pains can go beyond a tiny ache to actually being very painful.
  2. Dumping syndrome is another concern for weight loss patients. Dumping syndrome occurs when sugars enter the small intestine without being digested in the stomach. It can result in weakness, nausea, cold sweats, fainting and diarrhea.
  3. Carbonated beverages are just honestly full of empty calories that weight loss patients do not need.

I thought it would be easy to give up pop. To be honest, I have struggled more than I thought.  There are days that I do not want pop and then there are days where I am literally staring at my mother’s Coke can and asking to sniff her cup. As embarrassing as it is to say, the sizzle on the rim of the cup makes me happy.

However, I knew I made a choice going into this surgery and I have not given up. I have adjusted my habits to make sure I am not tempted by my guilty pleasure. I no longer have pop inside my apartment. And, instead of pop in the morning, I drink items that have natural Vitamin B energizers. This has helped a lot. Also, my healthier eating habits work to ensure that I have enough food in my body to run on throughout the day. I no longer need naps throughout the day or feel as groggy.

While I know I sometimes still struggle, as I have drank pop ever since I was little, for me at least, it is an obstacle worth surmounting. And, I will overcome it. Just not today. #InDueTime

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

